A car accident can happen at any time. One second you’re driving along, minding your own business, when out of nowhere another car comes careening across the road and smashes into you. The next thing you know you’re standing next to your wrecked car wondering just what happened to you and, more importantly, what you should do next.
If the wreck isn’t too serious, you may be tempted to simply exchange information with the other driver and continue on with your day. But this would be a mistake. Residents of Idaho who are involved in car accidents should be aware of certain laws governing car accidents and their aftermath. For example, did you know that you are required to report any car crash that injuries someone or exceeds damage of $1,500? Idaho has a number of strict car accident laws each and every Idaho driver should be aware of in case they are one day involved in a crash.
Idaho Car Accident Laws
There are a number of laws governing car accident reporting in Idaho. But the three most important laws you should know are listed below:
- Idaho Statutes Title 49. Motor Vehicles § 49-1305: The immediate notice of accidents
- Idaho Statutes Title 49. Motor Vehicles § 49-1306: Written reports of accidents
- Idaho Statutes Title 49. Motor Vehicles § 49-1310: Auto garages required to report accidents
It should be noted that state laws change frequently, as new legislatures are elected and new legislation is passed. Remember that the rules of today might not be the rules of tomorrow.
What to Do After a Car Accident in Idaho
The first and most important thing to do after a car crash is to stay calm. Pull your car out of traffic and check yourself and any other passengers for injuries. After you determine that no one has suffered a serious injury, call 911 immediately.
If emergency services aren’t required then you should determine whether you need to report the accident to the police. According to Idaho law, an accident should be reported if any of the following takes place:
An injury occurs
A person dies
There is greater than $1,500 in property damage
If your accident meets any of this criteria, do your future self a favor and report it to the police. Failure to report an accident can carry hefty fines and potential suspension of your drivers license.
If the police are unable to respond to your call or are taking too long, you can always create your own accident report. Below is the type of information you should compile for your accident report:
- A detailed description of the events leading up to the accident
- The personal information of anyone involved
- Updated insurance information and policy numbers
- Photographs of the scene
- Video of the scene
Concealing a Crash in Idaho is a Crime
The one thing you should never do after an accident is try to hide it. Hiding evidence of a car crash is a crime according to Idaho law. Repair shop owners in Idaho are required to report any vehicle they receive that shows signs of having been in a car wreck. Auto shop managers are must then report the registration, VIN, engine number, and contact information to the police within 48 hours if they suspect a vehicle they are working on has been damaged in a car accident. So if you’re trying to hide your car accident, don’t expect your mechanic to help you with the coverup.
Contact a Car Accident Lawyer
One of the best things you can do after your car accident is to hire a personal injury lawyer. The lawyers with the Idaho Advocates can help you navigate the complexities of car accident law. Nobody understands Idaho law quite like the Idaho Advocates do. We have decades of experience helping accident victims recover what they are owed according to the law.
The Idaho Advocates can help you build your personal injury case from the ground up. So if you’ve been injured in a car accident, don’t hesitate to contact the Idaho Advocates today. You can either call our office at 208-995-2444 or chat online immediately with a live attorney. Don’t wait to get back on the road to recovery. You deserve an Advocate.
Was this helpful?